[Skip to Content]

Upstate Emerging Leaders

ELU logo

Emerging Leaders United

The application is now CLOSED for the 2023-2024 Emerging Leaders scholarship. If you would like to be part of ELU you can donate through the Community Giving Campaign via self-serve - you would donate $250 to the United Way of CNY and click the box for ELU. 





To see Upstate Emerging Leaders in the community please visit Upstate's flickr page

The next generation of philanthopic leaders

Our Mission: To promote and encourage the spirit of philanthropy and volunteerism among emerging leaders in the Central New York Community

Emerging Leaders, a group of the United Way of CNY, promotes and encourages the spirit of philanthropy and volunteerism among emerging leaders in the Central New York Community

As an Emerging Leader and representative of Upstate Medical University, you can attend leadership and community education programs and volunteer events, and network with other leaders from companies across the greater Syracuse area.

Become an Upstate Emerging Leader through the Community Giving Campaign. Select "Emerging Leaders" and donate a minimum of $250 to the United Way of CNY.

Upstate Medical University offers a limited number of scholarships to employees for the first year of membership as an Emerging Leader.

Questions? Contact Veronica Farrell, Sarah Trapani, and Matt Capogreco at [email protected] 

Expand all

2023 - 2024 Emerging Leaders

David Auerbach, Hardik Bhaskar, Matt Capogreco*, Rebecca Carey, Andrea Cifonelli, Sarah Clark, Paul Corsi, Martin Earl, Sheri Edwards, Rachael Espinoza Kim, Veronica Farrell, Erin Graham, Andrea Hadcock, Marissa Hartley, Emery House, Bobbie Jo Massena, Stacey Keefe, Nitchaborie L. Jones, Kara LaBorde, Tracy Long, Erika Moon, Scott Neal, Jennifer Newman, Gabrielle Nickerson, Jackie Pilon, Tara Pinkerton, Christine Podolak, Michelle Stine, Robert Taylor, Sarah Trapani*, Dylan Tripodi, Ashley Volles, Margaret (Meg) Welch 

* = co-chairs

2022 - 2023 Emerging Leaders

David Auerbach, Matt Capogreco*, Rebecca Carey, Kelsey Christo, Paul Corsi, Martin Earl, Sheri Edwards, Veronica Farrell*, Melissa Fox, Steven Gabriel, Erin Graham, Nicole Harf, Emery House, Deidre Keefe, Stacey Keefe, Michael Longo*, Bobbie Jo Massena, Scott Neal, Jennifer Newman, Jackie Pilon, Jellica Price, Salina Smith, Carolyn Snyder, Michelle Stine, Shannon Summers, Robert Taylor, Sarah Trapani*, Dylan Tripodi, Ashley Volles, Margaret Welch
* = co-chairs

2020-2021 Emerging Leaders

Michael Longo, Co-Chair, Lauren Winters, Co-Chair, Aimee Goulette, Co-Chair, David Auerbach, Scott Neal, Sean Hoyt, Emily Baxter, Robert Taylor, Deidre Keefe, Emily Baxter, Nicole Harf, Amanda Marzella, Ashley Scott, Angana Mahapatra, Nicole Bunyea, Dr. Matthew Thronton, Stacey Keefe, Raquel Flemming, Jackie Pilon and Bobbie Jo Massena, Matthew Mahoney, Michael Landers

2018-2019 Emerging Leaders

Dr. Michelle Woogen - Rehabilitation Psychology
Dr. Andrea Shaw - Pedatrics 
Taryn Lindquist - Nursing-9E-Neuro Step-Down & MSN FNP 2018
Shuhong Luo - College of Nursing 
Kirsten Donato - College of Health Professions, Class of 2019
Justin Durland - College of Medicine, Class of 2021

2017-2018 Emerging Leaders

Michael Longo - IMT Rev Cycle & Training 
Lauren Winters - Univ/Health System Planning
Matthew Mahoney - IMT-Customer Support 
Aldrine Ashong-Katai - HealthLink