[Skip to Content]

Stroke Support Group

Stroke survivors, their family members and care providers learn more about living a full life after stroke.


“Social support is important in stroke recovery. Social isolation has been called a risk factor for a poor outcome after stroke. Family and friends provide important support for many survivors, but stroke support groups can also play a vital role in stroke recovery. They can decrease the isolation of both survivors and family, and introduce new friends to replace those often lost after the stroke.” 

 

Contact: OASIS/HealthLink
Meeting Time: 3rd Thursday of the Month, 5:00-6:30 p.m.
Currently Virtually Meetings via Zoom: 

 

 

 

 

Tentative Presenter Schedule:

  • Thursday, January 20, 2022-Open Discussion
  • Thursday, February 17, 2022-Kim Nemi, OTR/L (Vision and Visual Deficits Stroke)
  • Thursday, March 17, 2022-Subhashree Dasgupta, MS, CCC-SLP (Functional Language Techniques for Community Reintegration)
  • Saturday, March 26, 2022-Stroke Awareness Night with Syracuse Crunch
  • Thursday, April 21, 2022-Ashley Vogler, DPT (Safety Concerns Related to Falls)
  • Friday, May 6, 2022-Strikes Against Stroke Bowling Event at Flamingo Bowling, Liverpool
  • Thursday, May 19, 2022-Stroke Awareness Month 
  • Friday, May 27, 2022-Strike Out Stroke with Syracuse Mets
  • Thursday, June 16, 2022-Dr. Steven Lounsbury, PT, DPT (Common Orthopedic Injuries & Conditions After a Stroke)
  • Thursday, July 21, 2022-Dr. Awss Zidan (Headaches)
  • Thursday, August 18, 2022-Victor Duenas, PhD (Rehabilitation Robots and Neuromodulation to Improve Lower-Limb Function after Stroke)
  • Thursday, September 15, 2022-Nicole Ramos, DPT (Common Epquipment Needs After Stroke)
  • Thursday, October 20, 2022
  • Thursday, November 17, 2022
  • Thursday, December 15, 2022
Top