[Skip to Content]


Find by Last Name

Research Faculty—Obstetrics and Gynecology

Gynecologic Oncology

Maternal and Child Health/Pregnancy Outcomes

  • Helene Bernstein, MD/PhD
    Associate Professor
    Research Interests:

    Immunoregulation of innate immune function influencing viral pathogenesis, pregnancy complications, and inflammation; understanding how magnesium regulates immune function

  • Sandra Lane, PhD, MPH
    Research Professor
    Research Interests:

    The impact of racial, ethnic, and gender disadvantage on maternal, child and family health in urban United States and the Middle East.

  • Martha Wojtowycz, PhD
    Associate Professor
    Research Interests:

    Medical economics, quality improvement, and health services research.

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility

  • Shawky Badawy, MD
    Research Interests:

    Endometriosis, infertility management, menstrual dysfunction, laparoscopic and hysteroscopic surgery, and microsurgery.

  • Kazim Chohan, PhD, HCLD
    Research Interests:

    Gamete Physiology, Sperm DNA Damage

More About Upstate Research and Faculty

Overview of Research
David Amberg, PhD
Vice President for Research
Research Administration Organization
Sponsored Programs
Jennifer A. Rudes, Director, Sponsored Programs Pre-Award
Office of Sponsored Programs
Research Administration
Holly Chanatry, MS
Strategic Research Initiatives

Research Development
Clinical Research Unit
Ruth S. Weinstock, MD, PhD
Division Chief of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
Clinical Research Unit
Research Integrity
Robert H. Quinn, DVM, PhD
Interim Associate Vice President for Research Integrity
Research Integrity Office
Quality Assessment and Improvement Program (QAIP)
Robin Cerro
QAIP Coordinator
Research Compliance: IRB, IBC & QAIP
Research Compliance
Marti Benedict
Chief Compliance Officer for Research
Research Compliance: IRB, IBC & QAIP
Center for Research & Evaluation (CRE)
Steven Ziemba
Administrative Director
Center for Research & Evaluation (CRE)
Post-Awards Services
Gina McMahon
Director, Post-Award Services
Technology Transfer
Scott Macfarlane
Director, Office of Technology Transfer
Office of Technology Transfer