[Skip to Content]


Find by Last Name

Research Faculty—Neurosurgery

Program Director/Department Chair: Satish Krishnamurthy, MD

  • Blair Calancie, PhD
    Research Interests:

    CNS plasticity after trauma; intraoperative electrophysiology.

  • Daniel Tso, PhD
    Associate Professor
    Research Interests:

    Neuronal mechanisms of visual perception, studied through physiological, anatomical and functional imaging techniques. Adult cortical plasticity.

  • Mariano Viapiano, PhD
    Associate Professor
    Research Interests:

    Brain cancer therapies; tumor microenvironment; tumor invasion; extracellular matrix; nano-therapeutics; immunotherapies

  • Li-Ru Zhao, PhD
    Research Interests:

    Brain plasticity; molecular, cellular and functional mechanisms of brain repair in traumatic brain injury, stroke, Alzheimer’s disease, and CADASIL. Pathological mechanisms underlying the development and progression of brain injury, neurodegenerative and genetic diseases.

More About Upstate Research and Faculty

Overview of Research
David Amberg, PhD
Vice President for Research
Research Administration Organization
Sponsored Programs
Jennifer A. Rudes, Director, Sponsored Programs Pre-Award
Office of Sponsored Programs
Research Administration
Holly Chanatry, MS
Strategic Research Initiatives

Research Development
Clinical Research Unit
Ruth S. Weinstock, MD, PhD
Division Chief of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
Clinical Research Unit
Research Integrity
Robert H. Quinn, DVM, PhD
Interim Associate Vice President for Research Integrity
Research Integrity Office
Quality Assessment and Improvement Program (QAIP)
Robin Cerro
QAIP Coordinator
Research Compliance: IRB, IBC & QAIP
Research Compliance
Marti Benedict
Chief Compliance Officer for Research
Research Compliance: IRB, IBC & QAIP
Center for Research & Evaluation (CRE)
Steven Ziemba
Administrative Director
Center for Research & Evaluation (CRE)
Post-Awards Services
Gina McMahon
Director, Post-Award Services
Technology Transfer
Scott Macfarlane
Director, Office of Technology Transfer
Office of Technology Transfer