[Skip to Content]

Curricular Milestones (CMs)

Level-appropriate expectations that define what it means to be a competent Fellow.

To demonstrate a graduating fellow has met the EPAs, criteria have been developed by the ACGME. To help program better access a fellow's competency, The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology and The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists for each linked the Core Competencies with the Milestones and put those with expectations for each level of training.

Fellows are evaluated and training levels expected to be met at times during your training; these interval-based criteria are termed Curricular Milestones and are Competency-based. Advancement in training requires meeting appropriately-timed milestones; failure to do so will result extension or termination of training.

Curricular Milestones

The Milestones based upon the ACGME mandated six (6) core competencies:

  • Patient Care (PC)
  • Medical-Knowledge (MK)
  • Practice-Based Learning and Improvement (PBLI)
  • Interpersonal Communication Skills (ICS)
  • Professionalism (P)
  • System-Based Practice (SBP)