[Skip to Content]

Magnet Site Prep Toolkit

In this area you will find Q&A style cards and other resources to help you as we prepare for site visit.

What is the Magnet Recognition Program? 

Expand all

What is the Magnet Recognition Program?

Magnet Recognition is the highest recognition the American Nurses Credentialing Center grants to healthcare organizations for excellence in nursing practice.

What are the benefits of Magnet Recognition?

For patients...Patient outcomes are more favorable in Magnet hospitals:
  • Increased patient satisfaction
  • Decreased mortality rates
  • Decreased pressure ulcers
  • Decreased falls
  • Patient safety and improved quality
For nurses…Professional nurses consider Magnet designation as the gold standard:
  • Increased RN retention and lower nurse burnout
  • Decreased RN vacancy rate and RN turnover rate
  • Increased RN satisfaction

For the hospital…Magnet signifies high quality care to consumers:

  • Increased press and media coverage focused on quality nursing care reducing marketing expenses.
  • Gain and maintain competitive advantage in regional markets.

What are the five components of the Magnet Recognition Model?

The five components of the Magnet Recognition Model:
  • Transformational Leadership
  • Structural Empowerment
  • Exemplary Professional Practice
  • New Knowledge, Innovations & Improvements
  • Empirical Outcomes
Expand all

What are some characteristics of a transformational leader?

Transformational leaders are:
  • Visionary
  • Inspiring
  • Strategic
  • Engaging
  • Respectful
  • Trusting

What are some components of exemplary professional practice at Upstate?

  • Care Delivery System Model
  • Professional Practice Model
  • Ethical decision-making processes
  • Professional development opportunities

What does the term “empirical outcomes” refer to in the Magnet Model?

A result or outcome that has been validated by data to show that real change has occurred because of a particular action.
Expand all

What are the components of the Upstate Professional Practice Model?

  • Professionalism
  • Collaboration
  • Education
  • Resources
  • Holistic Care

What is the Patient Care Delivery System at Upstate?

Patient and family centered care is our care delivery model, in which we incorporate the patient and family into the plan of care and deliver care based on the individualized needs of the patient & family.

Expand all

What are the key quality indicators that are being collected at Upstate (i.e. empirical outcomes)?

  • Nursing Sensitive Indicators (NSI)
  • Clinical outcomes related to patient care such as hospital acquired pressure ulcers, falls, catheter associated urinary tract infections, and central line infections.
  • Patient satisfaction (HCAHPS)
  • Nurse satisfaction

What are Nursing Sensitive Indicators?

  • Nursing Sensitive Indicators (NSI) are measures that reflect the structure, processes and outcomes of nursing care (American Nurses Association, 2004).
  • These measures reflect the impact of nursing care.
  • Three types of NSIs were presented in our Magnet evidence: Clinical Quality, Patient Satisfaction and Nurse Satisfaction.

What is the NDNQI?

The National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators (NDNQI) was established by the American Nurses Association to collect data related to Nursing Sensitive Indicators (NSI) including clinical indicators (ex: hospital acquired pressure ulcers), patient satisfaction, and nurse satisfaction.