[Skip to Content]

Upstate People

The College of Medicine has announced the results of the Alpha Omega Alpha (AΩA) senior year elections for the Class of 2019.  AΩA is the national medical student honor society, and election is based on scholarly achievement, leadership, professionalism, and service. The newly elected members have committed to contributing a significant amount of their time as academic tutors for first and second year students, and to upholding academic integrity and professional behavior.  The chapter sponsors a student clerkship liaison program, service/leadership programs, a visiting professorship, and participates in Student Research Day planning, among other activities and events. Senior inductees of the Class of 2019 are: Michelle Baker, Patrick Curtin, Brian Cuzz, Lisa Ditchek, Joshua Drake, Alexander Fein, Alexandra France, Eric Gershon, Alec Jacobson, Melissa Mahajan, Scott Minchenberg, Natalie Wagaman.

The Department of Neurology has been selected to participate for another five-year term in the prestigious NIH funded NeuroNEXT research consortium. The selection was based on excellent performance in terms of patient enrollment and data quality in clinical trials sponsored by the network. The NeuroNEXT network provides a platform for design and implementation of clinical trials exploring novel diagnostic and therapeutic avenues for patients suffering from neurological diseases. Upstate participates in the network as part of the SUNY hub with the Neurology departments of SUNY Buffalo, Downstate and Stony Brook.

New Employees

Visit Welcome to Upstate for a list of new employees who joined Upstate Medical University in October.

In Memoriam

In Memoriam: A tribute to current Upstate employees, current volunteers, current students, and official retirees who have passed away.