[Skip to Content]

Upstate Community Giving Campaign raises more than $570,000

More than 1,200 members of the Upstate community donated more than $570,000 to Upstate’s 2022 Community Giving Campaign (CGC), bringing Upstate’s total giving to the CGC to $13.5 million since Upstate began the campaign in 1986.

“Upstate’s engagement with the community and its role in helping people have brighter future continues to impress,” said Campaign Chair Lawrence Chin, MD, professor and dean of Upstate’s Norton College of Medicine.

New donors to Upstate’s Community Giving Campaign rose 44 percent in 2022, bringing the number of new donor employees to 277. More than half of all new donors were nursing employees.

“Our nursing staff goes above and beyond every day to serve our patients and this commitment extends to this campaign,” said Chief Nursing Officer Scott Jessie.

The success of the campaign is due, in large part, to the 163 employees who served as department representatives. They help promote the campaign within their departments and answer employee questions about the campaign. A complete list of department representatives is available here.

Serving on the 2022 Campaign Committee were Dr. Katherine Beissner, Tammy Blackburn (ad-hoc) Catherine Cadley, Leah Caldwell Tree Carter, Dr. Lawrence Chin, Mark Congel, Dr. Mantosh Dewan, Kelly Dolan, Amy Green, Zanette Howe, Michael Longo Katherine Magnarelli, Nancy Prott, Linda Veit. Serving on the committee from United Way of Central New York were Nancy Kern Eaton and Meghann Sandak.

Upstate has won numerous honors awards for its Community Giving success from the United Way of Central New York, including the Spirit of Caring Award for Campaign Excellence, Leadership Development Award, Volunteer Service Award, and Campaign Volunteer of the Year Award.

Campaign Committee members are, back row from left: Mark Congel, Tree Carter, Meghann Sandak (UWCNY), Dr. Lawrence Chin (CGC Chair), Dr. Dewan (Upstate President), Nancy Kern Eaton (UWCNY), Catherine Cadley, and Leah Caldwell. Front row, from left: Becca Pesci, Kelly Dolan, Katherine Magnarelli, Amy Green, Nancy Prott, Zanette Howe and Linda Veit. Not pictured are Dr. Katherine Beissner, Michael Longo and Tammy Blackburn.