[Skip to Content]
Gold Standard Award winners are announced

Upstate names 10 as 2020 Gold Standard Award winners

Ten Upstate Medical University faculty members have been named as 2020 Gold Standard Award winners.

The awards recognize faculty for “work exemplifying the missions of Upstate, with particular emphasis on professionalism, work ethic and character.”

"We are very proud of all of our amazing Upstate faculty and it is with great pleasure that we recognize these Gold Standard winners,” said Interim Upstate President Mantosh Dewan, MD. “With their excellence, commitment and dedication to our missions, they exemplify the best in us. But what makes this award special is that each one was honored by their peers. Congratulations to all.”

The awards are presented annually by the Office of Faculty Affairs and Faculty during the Celebration of the Faculty, which was canceled this year due to the covid-19 pandemic.

“This year’s Gold Standard Award winners are exemplary educators,” said Ann S. Botash, MD, senior associate dean for faculty affairs and faculty development. “They share a dedication, enthusiasm and compassion for service, teaching, patient care and research.”  

Winners are selected from nominations from faculty peers.

This year’s Gold Standard Award winners are:

Janice Bach, MD, assistant professor, Department of Pediatrics, College of Medicine

Thomas Curran, MD, asociate professor, Bioethics and Humanities Department, College of Medicine

Harvir Singh Gambhir, MD, assistant professor, Department of Medicine, College of Medicine

Carol Anne Kozik, DNS, FNP-BC, assistant professor, College of Nursing

Kaushal Nanavati, MD, assistant professor, Department of Family Medicine and medical director, of Integrative Therapy, College of Medicine

Birendra Sah, MD, FCCP, associate professor, Department of Medicine, College of Medicine

Ernest Scalzetti, MD, professor, Department of Radiology, division chief of Thoracic Imaging Section, Diagnostic Division, College of Medicine

Scott Schurman, MD, associate professor, Department of Pediatrics, division director, Pediatric Nephrology, director, Pediatric Outpatient Services, College of Medicine

Jushuo Wang, PhD, assistant professor, Cell and Developmental Biology, College of Medicine

Erin Wentz, PT, PhD, PCS, assistant professor, Department of Physical Therapy Education, College of Health Professions.

For more information on this year's Gold Standard Award winners go to: https://www.upstate.edu/facultydev/fac_affairs/gold-standard-awards.php

For information on submitting nominations for a 2021 Gold Standard Award go to: https://www.upstate.edu/facultydev/fac_affairs/awards.php