[Skip to Content]

Ruth Weinstock, MD, PhD, picks up key award from the American College of Physicians

Ruth Weinstock, MD, PhD, picks up key award from American College of Physicians

Ruth Weinstock, MD, PhD, picks up key award from American College of Physicians

Ruth Weinstock, MD, PhD, FACP, who has helped transform diabetes care, especially in New York state, has been named the recipient of the 2018-2019 Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes.

This national award is given to a member of the American College of Physicians or to an organization that has made important health care delivery innovations for diabetic patients resulting in improved clinical or economic outcomes; or a member of the ACP who has conducted research that significantly improves quality of care or clinical management of diabetes.

Weinstock is Distinguished Service Professor and division chief of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism at Upstate, as well as medical director of the Clinical Research Unit and medical director of the Joslin Diabetes Center, also at Upstate. She is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians and the American Association of
Clinical Endocrinologists.

Weinstock was the driving force behind the establishment of the Joslin Diabetes Center at Upstate, which serves as the only comprehensive, multidisciplinary diabetes center serving adults and children in central New York. Her past work with the Veterans Administration (VA) locally and nationally contributed to the development of a model for diabetes care that the VA system adopted nationwide.

With an extensive publication history, Weinstock has assumed essential roles in several national collaborative research projects, including Treatment Options for Type 2 Diabetes in Adolescents and Youth (TODAY), and the Informatics for Diabetes Education and Telemedicine (IDEATel) Demonstration Project. With the Type 1 Diabetes (T1D) Exchange clinical network, she has conducted many projects including studies on the use of continuous glucose monitoring. She has trained and mentored hundreds of students, residents and fellows, inspiring many to pursue diabetes research and practice in their careers.

Her research over the past 25 years has focused on the study of new approaches for the prevention and management of diabetes mellitus and its complications, including efforts to expand access to diabetes care to underserved populations using telemedicine.

She has been an investigator in over 100 clinical research projects. She has served on grant review panels for the National Institutes of Health (NIDDK), on the National Board of Directors and numerous committees of the American Diabetes Association, as Associate Editor of Diabetes Care and Section Editor for Endocrinology for the Mayo Clinic Proceedings, on the editorial board of Endocrinology, on national committees for the Department of Veterans Affairs, as well as on other national, regional and local committees and task forces related to diabetes research and improving diabetes care. Locally, she serves on the Board of Directors of the JDRF (Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation).

Weinstock has received numerous honors and accolades for her work, including the SUNY Research Foundation Award Honoring Research in Science, Engineering and Medicine, the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities, and in 2017 the American Diabetes Association Outstanding Physician‐Clinician Award.

The American College of Physicians is the largest medical specialty organization in the United States with members in more than 145 countries worldwide. ACP membership includes 154,000 internal medicine physicians (internists), related subspecialists, and medical students. Internal medicine physicians are specialists who apply scientific knowledge and clinical expertise to the diagnosis, treatment, and compassionate care of adults across the spectrum from health to complex illness.

Weinstock will receive the award in April at the ACP’s Internal Medicine Meeting in Philadelphia.