[Skip to Content]

Upstate to recognize outstanding service at Convocation Sept. 19

Upstate to recognize outstanding service at Convocation Sept. 19

Jane Forstadt, an advocate for children with cancer, the Building Technologies Division of Siemens Industry Inc. and IBEW/NECA will be recognized for altruism along with 31 individuals who will be honored for distinguished service to the university at Upstate Medical University’s 2012 Fall Faculty Convocation and Presentation of Awards Wednesday, Sept. 19 at 4 p.m. in the Medical Alumni Auditorium in Weiskotten Hall. A reception will immediately follow the ceremony in Weiskotten Hall Courtyard.

Receiving President’s Awards for Distinguished Service are John L. Murad Jr., a trustee for the State University of New York (SUNY), and Cornelius B. Murphy Jr., PhD, president of SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry. Murad has been a strong advocate for the Upstate campus after being named chair of the Academic Medical Centers and Hospitals Committee. Murphy, a longtime board member of the Upstate Foundation, has joined efforts with two Upstate presidents for the last dozen years on projects that have enhanced the stature of both campuses.

Forstadt will receive the President’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropic Service in the Individual category. For 11 years, she organized Pat’s Pavement Pounder, a community walk that raised nearly $142,000 for children treated at the Dr. William J. Waters Center for Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders at Upstate Golisano Children’s Hospital. She created the walk to fulfill the wish of her late son, Patrick Cole, who wanted to help children with cancer. She went on to establish the Patrick Cole Endowment at the Foundation for Upstate in support of the pediatric cancer patients served at the Waters Center. She is also a parent advocate for a new pediatric palliative care committee at the children’s hospital.

IBEW/NECA and the Building Technologies Division of Siemens Industry Inc. will receive President’s Awards for Excellence in Philanthropic Service awards in the Corporate Division category. For the past 13 years, the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 43 (IBEW) and the Finger Lakes Chapter of the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) have generously pledged its support to Upstate Golisano Children’s Hospital and to the Upstate University Hospital Community Campus. The support has included sponsorship for galas, golf tournaments, auxiliary fundraising events, three capital campaigns and a variety of disease-specific funds.

Siemens’ Building Technologies Division is a longstanding sponsor of the Foundation for Upstate fundraising events. Throughout the years, the company has provided vital support for the region’s sick and injured children and scholarships for students at Upstate’s four colleges. It has supported cancer care and research at Upstate and helped make the Upstate Golisano Children’s Hospital a reality. The company’s largest single gift to Upstate is through its multi-year pledge to the campaign for the new Upstate Cancer Center. Accepting the award on behalf of the division is Paul Raineri, senior account executive for the company.

Faculty and staff who will be recognized at the convocation include:

SUNY Distinguished Service Professor, Ruth S. Weinstock, MD, PhD

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities, David C. Amberg, PhD

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, Dale Avers, DPT, PhD

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service, Richard M. O’Neill, PhD

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Classified Service: Keith Adams, 
Gwendolyn Spadafore, 
Debra Walczyk RN, BSN

President’s Award for Excellence in Basic Research by a Young Investigator, Golam Mohi, PhD

President’s Award for Advancement of Affirmative Action, Patricia A. Rector

President’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service, Amy Moore

President’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service, Roberto Izquierdo, MD

President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching: Michael L. Vertino, MD; Margaret M. Maimone, PhD; Carol Anne Kozik, MS, RN, CNS, FNP; Kerry Greene-Donnelly, MBA, RT;
Leann M. Lesperance, MD, PhD, Pediatrics

President’s Award for Outstanding Voluntary Faculty: Mitchell V. Brodey, MD; Ajoy K. Roy, MD: Joyce S. Baker; 
Anett Marcarian, BS, RT; Ashok R. Shah, MD

Academy of Upstate Educators: Kwame S. Amankwah, MD; 
Dale Avers; Ann S. Botash, MD; 
Margaret M. Maimone, PhD.; 
Susan Miller, PT, DPT, MS; 
Jennifer F. Moffat, PhD; Carol Recker-Hughes, PT, PhD, MA; Margaret Wells, PhD, RN, NP.