[Skip to Content]

US Government Agencies

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
    CDC's Mission is "to promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability." CDC is organized into twelve National Centers under four main categories, Each National Center has a wealth of valuable public health information:
  • CDC: Summary of Notifiable Diseases
    The CDC National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System is used to produce an annual Summary of Notifiable Diseases available at this site. Notifiable diseases are those which may require quarantine measures to prevent the spread of the disease.
    The CDC National Center for Public Health Informatics "provides leadership in the application of information and computer science and technology to public health practice, research, and learning." The Center is divided into five Divisions: Alliance Management and Consultation; Emergency Preparedness and Response; Informatics Shared Services; Integrated Surveillance Systems and Services; and Knowledge Management. Of interest is a link to the CDC Public Health Information Network: http://www.cdc.gov/phin/index.html.
  • U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration
    HRSA is a division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The site has links for Clinician Recruitment, Health Professions, Healthcare Systems, HIV/AIDS, Maternal & Child Health, Primary Health Care and Rural Health.
  • Healthy People
    This site is supported by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. Healthy People challenges individuals, communities, and professionals to take specific steps to ensure that good health, as well as long life, are enjoyed by all. Resources and links to that end are available on the site.
  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
    CMMS is a division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. There is administrative information such as enrollment and regulations, as well as research, resources, and education links.
  • The Office of Minority Health
    OMH, established in 1986, is another division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The mission is "to improve and protect the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities."