[Skip to Content]

Upstate Medical University MSCHE Self-Study Working Group Charge


The Working Groups are responsible for examining existing data and evaluations, gathering new information, and preparing analytical reports as a part of the Self-Study process in preparation for the site visit by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.


  1. Engage in a process of active and open inquiry related to a particular Middle States Standard
  2. Analyze documentation and outcome measures
  3. Review institutional processes and procedures
  4. Identify institutional challenges and strengths related to Upstate’s compliance with the Standard under review
  5. Identify linkages where appropriate to the other standards
  6. Propose recommendations for ongoing improvement
  7. Submit outlines, drafts, and the final of the Working Group report consistent with the timeline provided

Meeting Schedule: Groups will meet approximately once per month.

Committee Co-Chair Co-Chair Admin Support Members
Steering Lynn Cleary Jay Brenner Lisa Phelan Lisa Neerukonda Working Group Co-Chairs: President Laraque-Arena, Adham Alifarag, Tammy Austin-Ketch, Julio Licinio, Gloria Lopez, Renae Rokicki, Thomas Taylor
Mission / Goals Ramesh Sachdeva Mantosh Dewan Denise Feeley Dave Amberg, Rajesh Dave, Tom Duncan, Eileen Pezzi, Eric Rodriguez, Renae Rokicki, Linda Veit
Ethics and Integrity Mike Jurbala Joan O'Brien Margaret Bourke Leah Caldwell, Carrie Edick, Eric Frost, Rebecca Garden, Adam Haney, Sharon Huard, Darlene Noyes, Robert Olick, Robert Quinn,  L. Maria Walton
Design/Delivery of the Student Learning Experience Katherine Beissner Ann Botash JoAnne Race Wendy Ackerman, Sandy Banas, Jennifer Brennan, Paul Ko, John Lofrese, Roberta Rolland, Pam Youngs-Maher, Mary Slome
Support of the Student Experience Julie White Margaret Maimone Cheryl Alger Sylvia Cardounell, Bambi Carkey, Maryann Grandinetta, Jennifer Martin Tse, Tom Poole, Krystal Ripa, Laura Schlueter, Simone Seward, Dominick Vilsaint
Educational Effectiveness and Assessment Lauren Germain Sue Graham Colleen Dillenbeck Gary Brooks, Terri Brown, John Folk, Margaret Formica, Karen Klingman, Krysten O’Hara, Eric Olson, Susan Wojcik
Planning, Resources, Institutional Improvement Eric Smith Grace Van Nortwick Lisa Neerukonda Adam Alifarag, David Anthony, Hans Cassagnol, Rick Gardner, Rohin Mehta, Frank Middleton, Heather Nelson, Tom Pelis, Joyce Scarpinato, Terry Wagner
Governance, Leadership, Administration Mark Schmitt Kerry Greene-Donnelly Cherylene Small Lenore Boris, Carol Braund, Nancy Daoust, I. Ferderico Fernandez Nievas, Rachel Hopkins Melanie Kalman, Joseph Kalet
Communication Team Leah Caldwell Lisa Phelan Renee Rokicki, Weizhen Tu, David VanWie,
Federal Compliance Lynn Cleary

Lisa Phelan Lisa Neerukonda

Mike Alsheimer, Lauren Germain, Jennifer Martin Tse, Jennifer Welch, Julie White, Pam Youngs-Maher