[Skip to Content]

Faculty Appointments and Promotions Committee (FAPC)

COMFAPC group photo
2020 College of Medicine Faculty Appointment & Promotion Committee — Seated: Ann Botash, MD (Ex Officio); Robert Hutchison, MD; Margaret Turk, MD (Chair); William Brunken, PhD; Jean Sanger, PhD Standing: Blair Calancie, PhD; Christopher Morley, PhD; Bernard Poiesz, MD; Michele Henderson (Committee Assistant); Mariano Viapiano, PhD; Mehdi Mollapour, PhD; Paul Massa, MD and Fenghua Li, MD Not Pictured: Joseph Domachowske, MD; Wanda Fremont, MD; Ying Huang, PhD


Paul Massa, PhD

Vice Chair: Bernard Poiesz, MD


Ann Botash, MD (ex officio)

Steven Taffet, PhD (ex officio)

Blair Calancie, PhD

Gregory Conners, MD

Nienke Dosa, MD

Wanda Fremont, MD

Stephen Glatt, PhD

L Syd Johnson, PhD

Barry Knox, PhD

Satish Krishnamurthy, MD

William Lavelle, MD

Fenghua Li, MD

Mehdi Mollapour, PhD

Christopher P. Morley, PhD

Palma Shaw, MD

Jagmohan Sidhu, MD

Ronald Szjkowski, MD

Guirong Wang, PhD


Kelly Donovan, donovake@upstate.edu

Office of Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development


The College of Medicine Faculty Appointments and Promotions Committee membership consists of tenured representatives selected by the Dean, College of Medicine from the basic science and clinical faculty holding academic and qualified academic rank of Professor, and includes two representatives from the Binghamton Campus. The Committee reviews the professional records and supporting documents of candidates for appointment, promotion and/or tenure to the rank of Associate Professor or above, including both academic and qualified academic rank. The Committee's recommendations are forwarded to the Dean, College of Medicine, and subsequently to the President of Upstate Medical University.

Faculty candidates for appointment, promotion and/or tenure to the rank of Associate Professor or Professor must submit a proposal to the COM FAPC for its review and recommendation to the Dean, according to the appropriate submission guide.

Please visit Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development Promotion and Tenure page for the following:

  • Dates for Submissions and Meetings
  • Forms for Promotion and/or Tenure of College of Medicine Faculty
  • Guidelines for Tenure of Faculty
  • Guidelines for Standardized CV
  • Guidelines for Educator's Portfolio
  • Agreements of Academic Expectation
  • General Forms for the Appointment and Maintenance of Faculty Positions