Are Upstate  Drive Innovation & Discovery Respect People Serve Our Community Value Integrity		Annual Faculty Meeting  Minutes  May 18, 2016	
Time	3:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.	- E	
Chair	Dale Avers		
Vice Chair	Richard Veenstra		
Secretary	Adam Rufa		Upstate Faculty Council Membership Roster     Major shappes to bulgue
<b>Committee Support</b>	Patty Gooden		<ul> <li>Major changes to bylaws</li> <li>Summary of proposed changes to bylaws</li> </ul>
Location	9 <sup>th</sup> Floor Auditorium, WH		
Videoconference	None		

#### **PRESENT:** See attached attendance list

### Call to Order

- The meeting was called to order by President and Chair of the University Faculty, Dr. Laraque-Arena at 3:33 p.m and turned over to University Faculty Vice-Chair, Dale Avers.
- The agenda was approved as written.

## **Approval of Minutes**

• The minutes were accepted as published by unanimous vote of those present and eligible to vote.

## **Chair's Report - Dale Avers**

- The election results were shared with everyone. A new Upstate Faculty Council Membership Roster is attached.
- Proposed bylaw changes to Upstate Faculty and Faculty Council Bylaws were presented (see attachment):
  - o In addition to minor changes that do not change the intent of any single item, the attached changes are considered significant and thus worthy of your attention.
    - Eligibility for Chair
    - Who votes for Chair of the Council
    - Election versus Selection of Committee Members:
      - ➤ 4 members are elected/3 members are jointly appointed
      - > It was suggested that a change be made so that all seven members be elected.
    - Eligibility to vote in officer elections
    - Editorial changes
      - > Editorial changes are different than grammatical changes.

The proposed bylaw changes will be sent out for vote 30 days after they have been published on Blackboard and presented at this meeting.

# **Other Business**

- Jay Brenner was introduced as the new Chair of the Faculty Council.
- Dale Avers was presented with a plaque thanking her for her service to the Faculty Council for the past three years.

The meeting adjourned at 4:04 p.m. A Town Hall meeting by President Laraque-Arena immediately followed the Annual Faculty Meeting.