[Skip to Content]


Contact: Tamara Johnson
Location: College of Nursing
750 East Adams Street
Syracuse, NY 13210
Phone: 315 464-4276
Email: JohnsTam@upstate.edu

Curriculum and Assessment

  • Chair: Mary Catherine Forgea, MSN, RN
  • Co-Chair: Caitlin Nye, MSN, RN, NPD-BC, CHSE
  • Members:
  • Kathryn Holliday, DNP, CPNP, CNE
  • Tamara Johnson, Support Staff
  • Jennifer Martin-Tse, Registrar (Ex-Officio)
  • Pam Youngs-Maher, Distance Learning (Ex-Officio)
  • Abigail Smith, Library (Ex-Officio)
  • Olivia Tsistinas, Library (Ex-Officio)
  • Purpose: Review curricula of each program at least once every 2 years to determine if objectives of the programs are being met in an effective manner and propose any needed changes to full faculty; review, and propose to faculty all proposals for new programs or tracks; review and propose to faculty all proposals for revisions in established programs.

Outcomes and Evaluation Committee

  • Chair: Amanda Brown, PhD,RN 
  • Members:
  • Karen Klingman, PhD, RN (representative to SLOC)
  • Joshua Purcell, MS, RN
  • Justin Waryold, DNP, RN, ANP-C, ACNP-BC, GS-C,CNE, FAANP
  • Lauren Germain, PhD, UMU EAR Director (Ex-Officio)
  • Alice Boyce, MA, Support Staff
  • Stacie Corrigan (MS student), Student Representative
  • Purpose: Propose and implement a plan of program evaluation in relation to the CON mission and goals. Perform ongoing program evaluation of all programs by collecting and analyzing data related to student learning outcomes, program outcomes, and Essentials of Nursing Education to meet the standards for accreditation and strengthen the College of Nursing academic programs.

Admissions and Enrollment

  • Co-Chairs:
  • Kathryn Holliday, DNP, CPNP, CNE
  • Shannon Wing, Admissions Advisor
  • Members:
  • Justine Kurtzner, MS, NP, FNP-BC
  • Florence Mandebvu, DNP, RN, GCNS-BC
  • Joshua Purcell, MS, RN
  • Justin Waryold, DNP, RN, ANP-C, ACNP-BC, GS-C,CNE, FAANP
  • Jennifer Vaughn, DNP, RN, NE-BC (Ex-Officio)
  • Tamara Johnson, Support Staff

Appointment, Promotion and Tenure

  • Chair: Karen Kingman, PhD, RN
  • Members:
  • Christopher Neville, PhD, PT, CHP, UMU Tenure Faculty Member
  • Paula Trief, PhD, Department of Psychiatry, UMU Tenure Faculty Member
  • Purpose: Review, recommend and implement policy related to the appointment, promotion and tenure of College of Nursing faculty.

Policy and Student Affairs

  • Chair: Florence Mandebvu, DNP, RN, GCNS-BC
  • Members: Caitlin Tomko, DNP, FNP-C, ACHPN
  • Jennifer Vaughn, DNP, RN, NE-BC
  • Melissa Carr Rowe, Support Staff
  • Tammy Austin-Ketch, PhD, FNP-BC, FAANP (Ex-Officio)
  • Jayne Vamvakias, RN, (BS to DNP student), Student Representative
  • Purpose: Review recommend and implement policies related to admission, retention, progression, and graduation of students enrolled in the nursing programs.

Faculty Assembly 

  • Chair: Karen Klingman, PhD, RN
  • Vice Chair: Joshua Purcell, MS, RN
  • Justine Kurtzner, MS, NP, FNP-BC, Secretary
  • Tammy Austin-Ketch, PhD, FNP-BC, FAANP (Ex-Officio)