[Skip to Content]

History of Omicron Alpha

Sigma Theta Tau, a not-for-profit international honor society for nursing, was founded in 1922 by six nursing students at the Indiana Training School for Nurses, now the Indiana University School of Nursing in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The founders chose the name from the initials of the Greek words Storge, Tharos, and Tima-meaning love, courage, and honor. Sigma Theta Tau, International (STTI) is the second largest nursing organization in the United States and the fifth largest in the world. In 1997 STTI had 356 chapters located at colleges and universities across the United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico. There are also chapters in Australia, Taiwan, South Korea, and Indonesia. There are 220,000 members employed in 73 countries around the world.

Omicron Alpha Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau, International was chartered in June of 1996. More than 200 members of the Local Honor Society-which was established by the College of Nursing at the SUNY Health Science Center in Syracuse-became charter members of the new chapter. Dr. Margaret Argentine was its first President.

Preceding chapter status, the Local Honor Society was established by the College at the time it graduated its first class in May of 1987. Twenty seven professional nurses comprised of faculty, students, and community leaders were inducted at the first Local Honor Society Induction Ceremony on May 16, 1987.

The First Officers Were:

  • Stella Sroka, MS, RN, President
  • Michele Masten, MS, RN, Vice President
  • Nancy Page, MS, RN, Secretary
  • Lawrence Brennan, MS, RN, Treasurer

Faculty Counselors Were:

  • Dr. Virginia Byers
  • Judith Evers, MS, RN.