[Skip to Content]

Admissions/Recruitment Committee


Steven Taffet, PhD

Chair of Recruitment:

Samuel Herberg, PhD


[email protected]


  • Scott Blystone, PhD
  • Michael Cosgrove, PhD
  • Brian Howell, PhD
  • Yan-Jang Huang, PhD
  • Yamin Li, PhD
  • Reyna Martinez-Deluna, PhD
  • Nathan Roy, PhD
  • Vladimir Sirotkin, PhD
  • William Spencer, PhD
  • Norifumi Urao, MD/PhD

Ex Officio:

  • Mark Schmitt, PhD


The Admissions/Recruitment Committee will be responsible for reviewing Ph.D. graduate student applications and making its recommendations of acceptance or rejection to the Dean of the College of Graduate Studies. The committee will keep in contact with the accepted applicants with the intention of getting them to matriculate at Upstate.

The underlying charge to the Committee is to increase the quality and quantity of applicants to the Biomedical Sciences Doctoral Program and convince the best of them to matriculate.

Related Standing Committees/Subcommittees/Ad hoc committees/Task Force: