[Skip to Content]

SUNY Awards for Distinguished Service/ Distinguished Teaching Professors Committee

Chair & Members:

Committee membership is appointed by the local governance structure with concurrence of the campus President. It shall include the chair (or designee) of the Faculty Council, student representation and one member designated by the campus President to act in an ex officio capacity.


Margaret Bourke: 464-4520
Academic Affairs Office
Room 1166, Weiskotten Hall


The Distinguished Service Professorship and Distinguished Teaching Professorship are both tenured University ranks that can be conferred only by the SUNY Board of Trustees. A call for nominations is sent out via email in October. The committee meets in January/February to review the nominees and selects one person in each category (if applicable) and submits their selections to the President for approval. The dossier on the nominee in each category is then prepared and sent to Albany for the Trustees' review and approval.

Related Standing Committees/Subcommittees/Ad hoc committees/Task Force: