[Skip to Content]

Dearing Writing Award Competition

This award celebrates the connections between the healing sciences and creative arts. Established in 1985, the Dearing Writing Award is presented annually for the best essay, short story, or poem in two categories: student and faculty/employee. All submissions to the contest also receive consideration for publication in CBH's journal, The Healing Muse.


The Center for Bioethics and Humanities announces...

 hodge home

The 37th Annual Dearing Writing Award Competition 

                          Fiction ~ Memoir  ~ Poetry

Open to all SUNY Upstate students, residents, employees and faculty

                  Submission Deadline: March 18, 2024

Interested in submitting your work to this year's competition?

  • Find further details and submission guidelines, click here.
  • For excerpts from past Dearing winners, click here.