[Skip to Content]

Dearing Writing Awards (Upstate Students, Faculty, & Staff)

Congratulations to the winners of the

31st Annual Dearing Writing Awards [2017]



Winners of the 2017 Dearing Writing Awards

Student Poetry

Ben Casola, Staying Alive 

Jordana Gilman, Balloons: A Short Story

Faculty/Employee Poetry

Joan Cofrancesco, we were all afraid

Pam Freeman, Girls with Scars Where Tenderness Belongs

Faculty/Employee Essay/Prose

Jim McKeever, The Invitation

This award celebrates the connections between the healing sciences and creative arts. Established in 1985, the Dearing Writing Award is presented annually for the best essay, short story, or poem in two categories: student and faculty/employee. All submissions to the contest also receive consideration for publication in CBH's journal, The Healing Muse.