[Skip to Content]

Dearing Writing Awards (Upstate Students, Faculty, & Staff)

Congratulations to the winners of the

30th Annual Dearing Writing Awards [2016]



Winners of the 2016 Dearing Writing Awards

Student Poetry

Jordana Gilman, She Says/He Says/Emily

Kaitlin Kyi, Kind of a Bummer

Student Essay/Prose

Brielle Stanton, A Collection of Firsts

Annette Liem, Mr. Carter

Faculty/Employee Poetry

Ann S. Botash, MD, Taking the Stand

Pam Freeman, Triptych: 65/75/85

James Dwyer, Hard Year with Haiku

Faculty/Employee Essay/Prose

Peter Cronkright, Meaningful Use

Emily Weston, RN, The Hero

This award celebrates the connections between the healing sciences and creative arts. Established in 1985, the Dearing Writing Award is presented annually for the best essay, short story, or poem in two categories: student and faculty/employee. All submissions to the contest also receive consideration for publication in CBH's journal, The Healing Muse.