Frequently Asked Questions
Here are some frequently asked questions and their answers:
Q: How do I contact the New York State University Police @ Upstate Medical University?
A: By dialing (315) 464-4000 from any phone, while on campus dial extension 4-4000. Our Communications Dispatchers are available 24/7 for assistance.
Q: How do I dispute a parking ticket I received on the Upstate Medical University Campus?
A: Please visit the Parking Office website at: http://www.upstate.edu/parking/news/parking-violations.php for the full details on Parking Tickets. You can appeal most parking tickets received from our campus by going to https://parking.upstate.edu/.
Q: Where can I get a copy of the Annual Security Report (Clery)?
A: Visit http://www.upstate.edu/universitypolice/about/reports.php to see an electronic copy of our Annual Security Report. You may request a copy of the report by calling the Office of the Chief at (315) 464-4134, or our Communication Center at (315) 464-4000.
Q: Can I make an anonymous tip to the New York State University Police @ Upstate Medical University?
A: Yes, only while on campus at http://www.upstate.edu/victimresources/intra/tip-form.php . Please leave as much information about the tip as you possibly can. You have the option to leave your name, however it is not required.
Q: How do I apply to become an Officer for the New York State University Police Department?
A: You must take and pass the New York State Civil Service exam for NYS University Police Officer (UPO 1). For full details and information visit the Employment Page at: http://www.upstate.edu/universitypolice/about/employment.php.
Q: What are the seatbelt laws in New York State?
A: In the front seat, the driver and each passenger must wear a seat belt, one person per belt. The driver and front-seat passengers aged 16 or older can be fined up to $50 each for failure to buckle up.
Every occupant, regardless of age or seating position, of a motor vehicle being operated by the holder of a Class-DJ Learner Permit, a Limited Class-DJ, or Class-DJ Driver License must be restrained by a safety restraint.
Each passenger under age 16 must wear a seat belt or use an appropriate child safety restraint system. The restraint system must comply with the child height and weight recommendations determined by the manufacturer. Depending on the size of the child, the restraint system may be a safety seat or a booster seat used in combination with a lap and shoulder belt.
The driver must make sure that each passenger under age 16 obeys the law. The driver can be fined $25 to $100 and receive three driver license penalty points for each violation.
Seat belt use is not required in taxis or livery vehicles, emergency vehicles, 1964 or older vehicles, or by passengers in buses other than school buses (seat belt use may be required by the school district). Rural letter Carriers are also exempt while they are delivering mail.
Effective November 1, 2018: No person shall operate a taxi or livery unless such person is restrained by a safety belt approved by the commissioner. Additionally, no person sixteen years of age or over shall be a passenger in the front seat of a taxi or livery unless such person is restrained by a safety belt approved by the commissioner.