DHHS Office of Research Integrity

The Office of Research Integrity (ORI) oversees and directs Public Health Service (PHS) research integrity activities on behalf of the Secretary of Health and Human Services, with the exception of the Food and Drug Administration. The Public Health Service is composed of ten offices and agencies, including NIH, CDC, HRSA, AHRQ, and SAMHSA. Because most of Upstate's extramural research support comes from PHS offices and agencies, the Upstate Research Misconduct Policy incorporates the ORI Research Misconduct Policies (42 CFR 93) into its broader definition of research misconduct.