Upstate News

January 27, 2010
Doretta Royer 315 464-4833

Upstate Medical University announces appointments, honors and awards

SYRACUSE, N.Y. — SUNY Upstate Medical University announces the following appointments, honors and awards:

• John A. Hoepner, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Onondaga County Medical Society at the Society’s annual dinner, held Nov. 2 at the DoubleTree Hotel in East Syracuse. The Distinguished Service Award is the society’s highest award. Hoepner resides in Fayetteville.

• Christine Stork, Pharm.D., was inducted as a fellow into the American Academy of Clinical Toxicology at the North American Congress of Clinical Toxicology Sept. 24 in San Antonio. Stork has served as the clinical director of the Upstate New York Poison Center since 1995. She also is a clinical associate professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine and in the Department of Medicine, Division of Clinical Pharmacology. Stork resides in DeWitt.

• Kan Liu, M.D., Ph.D., has been named assistant professor of medicine. Liu’s clinical interests are in general cardiology, invasive cardiology and cardiovascular imaging, and coronary artery disease prevention. Liu resides in Fayetteville.

• Layth A. Saymeh, M.D., has joined the Department of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology, as an assistant professor of medicine. His specialty is general

gastroenterology and associated gastrointestinal diagnostic and screening procedures.

• Leslie J. Kohman, M.D., has been named a member of the Commission on Cancer of the American College of Surgeons (ACoS. Kohman, of Syracuse, is SUNY Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Surgery, Division of Thoracic Surgery. She lives in Syracuse.

• Margaret Wells, Ph.D., R.N., N.P., assistant professor in the College of Nursing, published an article titled “Resilience in Rural Community-Dwelling Older Adults” in the Journal of Rural Health, Vol. 25 Issue 4. Wells lives in Fayetteville.

• Shawky Badawy, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, participated in the 14th Annual International Fertility Meeting in Cairo, Egypt, presenting on the “Impact of Assisted Reproductive Technology on Multiple Births.” He was also invited to Suez Canal University, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, to address to faculty issues related to reproductive endocrinology and infertility and issues related to emergencies in gynecology. Badawy resides in DeWitt.

• Robert K. Silverman, M.D., has received the 2009 Junior Fellow Professor of the Year award from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists District 11 Junior Fellows. Silverman is professor of obstetrics and gynecology and division chief/director of Maternal and Fetal Medicine. Silverman resides in Fayetteville.

• Robert R. Michiel, M.D., of Manlius, and Ali K. Salah, M.D., of Manlius, have joined Upstate’s Department of Medicine. Michiel will serve as clinical assistant professor of medicine. He is board certified in internal medicine and in cardiovascular disease. Salah will serve as assistant professor of medicine and medical director of cardiovascular MRI and CT.

• Joan E. O’Brien, MSEd, RT(T), of Baldwinsville, has been appointed as a member of the Radiologic Technologist Advisory Board of the State Department of Health for a four-year term. The board advises the state Health Department’s Bureau of Environmental Radiation Protection on issues relating to the practice of radiologic technology, including disciplinary charges against individual technologists, the impact of changes in the healthcare delivery system and appropriate amendments to the current rules and regulations. O’Brien is associate professor and chair of the Department of Radiation Therapy and associate dean of the College of Health Professions.

• Peter Mariani, M.D., of Tully, received the “Unsung Physician Hero Award” from Hospice of Central New York for his work in performing ultrasound-guided palliative procedures in patients’ homes. Mariani is associate professor of emergency medicine.

• Judith Rees, A.C.R.N., N.P., of Pompey, program director of the Designated AIDS Center, has received a 2009 Linda Laubenstein Award for excellence in HIV care from the New York State Department of Health AIDS Institute in collaboration with the Johns Hopkins University Division of Infectious Diseases. The Laubenstein Award represents an opportunity for the AIDS Institute to highlight the contributions of clinicians whose service has been extraordinary.

Search Upstate News

Upstate in the News

News Feed
Subscribe to RSS Feed
Follow us on Twitter