Upstate News

July 22, 2008
Darryl Geddes 315 464-4828

SUNY Upstate honors residency program directors and coordinators for outstanding leadership

SYRACUSE, N.Y.— Deborah Bradshaw, M.D., and Anne Jones have been honored by SUNY Upstate Medical University’s Office of Graduate Medical Education for their outstanding leadership and effort on behalf of the university’s medical residency programs.

Bradshaw of Jamesville has been named the recipient of the Program Director of the Year award the for her work in the recruitment, selection, supervision and evaluation of SUNY Upstate’s Neurology residents.

“Dr. Bradshaw is without peer when it comes to the excellent and sound administration of our residency program in neurology,” said Sarah Grethlein, M.D., associate professor and associate dean of Graduate Medical Education. “Her service to the program and our institution is outstanding.”

Bradshaw, a neurologist, has been affiliated with SUNY Upstate since 1980 when she earned her medical degree. She joined the faculty in 1990 and has served as residency program director for Neurology since 2006.

Jones of Liverpool has been named winner of the Program Coordinator of the Year award for her work in planning and coordinating the academic and operational activities of the Radiology residency program.

“Anne Jones’ knowledge, skill and abilities in this area are outstanding,” Grethlein said. “Radiology residents are well-served by her commitment to excellence and her indepth knowledge of issues most important to our Radiology residents.”

Jones began work at SUNY Upstate in 1992 and has been serving as program coordinator of the Radiology resident program since 2001.

This years marks the first time the Office of Graduate Medical Education has presented an award to honor outstanding work by the program director and program coordinator.

SUNY Upstate provides residency experiences for more than 470 physicians annually.

Search Upstate News

Upstate in the News

News Feed
Subscribe to RSS Feed
Follow us on Twitter