Program Leadership

Deborah Young Bradshaw, MD
Deborah Young Bradshaw, MD,
Residency Program Director
Department of Neurology
806 Jacobsen Hall
750 East Adams Street, Syracuse, NY 13210

Deborah Young Bradshaw, MD is a native of upstate New York. She has been a faculty member since 1990 and has served as Program Director since 2006. She graduated from Wellesley College and SUNY Upstate Medical University. She completed her neurology residency at Boston University and a fellowship in Electromyography at the Lahey Clinic. Her interests include clinical neuromuscular disease, medical ethics, medical education and creative writing on medical and non-medical subject matter.

Dr. Bradshaw was the recipient of the Institution's first "Excellence in Graduate Medical Education Program Director Award" in 2008. This award is given annually by the Graduate Medical Education office to recognize leadership and commitment to the residency program and institution.

Dr. Bradshaw was recognized in 2014 with a national Neurology Program Director Award by the American Academcy of Neurology's Consortium of Neurology Program Directors.

Jeremy M Shefner, MD, PhD
Jeremy M. Shefner, MD, PhD,
Department of Neurology
815 Jacobsen Hall
750 East Adams Street, Syracuse, NY 13210

Jeremy M. Shefner, MD, PhD has served as Chair of the Department of Neurology since 2005. He earned a PhD at the University of Illinois, Chicago and his MD at Northwestern University. He completed his neurology residency and EMG fellowship at Harvard University. He is co-founder of the Northeast ALS Clinical Trials Group and is active in clinical and basic ALS research.