Upstate Medical University MSCHE Self-Study Steering Committee Charge & Membership


The Steering Committee is responsible for overseeing the decennial Self-Study process in preparation for the site visit by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.


  1. Determine the key issues for Self-Study from the MSCHE Standards and Upstate Mission
  2. Approve a Self-Study Design
  3. Monitor progress of Working Groups
  4. Promote communication plan with Upstate community, including an institutional-wide review of the draft Self-Study
  5. Arrange for institution-wide review of and response to draft Self-Study
  6. Approve the final Self-Study Report
  7. Participate in visits by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education liaison, the team Chair, and the Evaluation Team.

Meeting Schedule: Group will meet approximately every two months.

Meeting Minutes

Below are meeting minutes for the Steering Committee

Meeting Minutes 2-6-17PDF IconIntranet Icon

Meeting Minutes 3-16-17PDF IconIntranet Icon

Meeting Minutes 6-28-17PDF IconIntranet Icon

Meeting Minutes 9-5-17PDF IconIntranet Icon

Members by Title and Role on Steering Committee

Name Title Role on Steering Committee
Lynn Cleary VP, Academic Affairs Co-Chair
Jay Brenner Chair, Faculty Governance Co-Chair
Danielle Laraque-Arena President Member
Tom Taylor Chair of the University Council Member
Lisa Phelan Director, Accreditation & Compliance Member
Lisa Neerukonda Coordinator, Accreditation & Compliance Member
Sergio Garcia Vice President, Operations & University Chief of Staff Member
Julio Licinio Dean and Senior Vice President, College of Medicine Member
Ramesh Sachdeva SVP, Strategic Affairs Working Group 1 Co-Chair
Mantosh Dewan Distinguished Service Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Working Group 1 Co-Chair
Michael Jurbala Director, Internal Audit Working Group 2 Co-Chair
Joan O'Brien Senior Associate Dean, College of Health Professions Working Group 2 Co-Chair
Katherine Beissner Interim Dean College of Health Professions Working Group 3 Co-Chair
Ann Botash Distinguished Teaching Professor, Pediatrics Working Group 3 Co-Chair
Julie White Dean, Student Affairs Working Group 4 Co-Chair
Margaret Maimone Associate Professor, Cell and Developmental Biology Working Group 4 Co-Chair
Lauren Germain Director, Evaluation, Assessment, & Research Working Group 5 Co-Chair
Sue Graham Associate Dean, College of Health Professions Working Group 5 Co-Chair
Eric Smith VP, Administration and Finance Working Group 6 Co-Chair
Grace VanNortwick Chief of Staff Working Group 6 Co-Chair
Mark Schmitt Dean, College of Graduate Studies Working Group 7 Co-Chair
Kerry Greene-Donnelly Assistant Professor, College of Health Professions - Medical Imaging Sciences Working Group 7 Co-Chair
Leah Caldwell Assistant VP for Marketing and University Communications