Distinguished Alumnus, 2007

Jonas T. Johnson, MD '72Jonas T. Johnson, MD '72, is chairman of the Department of Otolaryngology at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, where he is the Dr. Eugene N. Myers Chair in Otolaryngology. He is also professor of radiation oncology and holds an appointment as professor in oral maxillofacial surgery at the University of
Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine.

Dr. Johnson served in the U.S. Air Force as a member of the teaching staff at the Lackland USAF Medical Center in San Antonio, where he received a Letter of Commendation. A specialist in head and neck oncology, Johnson has published more than 350 manuscripts in peer-reviewed literature, co-edited 19 textbooks and is the author of more than 150 textbook chapters. He established the fellowship program in Advanced Oncologic Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Pittsburgh and serves as program director for residency training in otolaryngology.

Johnson has served as president of the American Academy of Otolaryngology, the America Head and Neck Society, and editor of the American Journal of Otolaryngology. He is currently editor of the Laryngoscope.