Advisory Research Committee of Omicron Alpha

The Advisory Research Committee of Omicron Alpha would like to facilitate mentoring and collaboration of members on research projects. Communication is the first step in this process. We would like to list the research interests of our members with contact information. This would allow members with similar interests to collaborate and for new researchers to find a mentor.

Research Mentors

If you are interested in research, contact one of these members -

Debra Dibartolo (DibartoD@upstate.edu)

  • Substance abuse, addiction, recovery
  • Community violence
  • Interpersonal violence and domestic violence
  • Sexual assult nursing
  • Injury prevention
  • Forensic nursing
  • Correctional nursing/ inmate care

Melanie Kalman (kalmanm@upstate.edu)

  • Cardiovascular disease in women,
  • Qualitative research
  • Adolescent Women
  • End of life

Carol Anne Kozik (KozikC@upstate.edu)

  • Teacher use of power
  • Student empowerment
  • Critical thinking in nursing

Terri Morse (Morset@upstate.edu)

I would love a mentor for my potential research project. My areas of interest are:

  • Cultural competence and cultural assessments
  • Patient and family centered healthcare

Donna Parks (DonnaParks@crouse.org)

  • Evaluating teaching/education outcomes

Roberta Rolland (rollandr@upstate.edu)

  • End-of-care,
  • Transition/Transitions Theory (Meleis)
  • Cardiac surgery/cardiology
  • Rural health
  • Nursing as Caring (Boykin & Schoenhofer)

Patricia Stewart (dgupatricia@hotmail.com)

I would like to be a part of this process. I would be interested in any research that has to do with the follwing:

  • Skin
  • Wound
  • Ostomy
  • Incontinence.

Margaret Wells (wellsm@upstate.edu)

  • Resilience
  • Older adults
  • Cardiovascular disease in women
  • Rural populations

Priscilla Worral (worralp@upstate.edu)

  • EBP awareness, implementaton, dissemination, Ex. EBP readiness, information literacy of practicing professional nurses, nurse & patient outcomes related to implementation of current best evidence, effectiveness of processes for implementation and/or dissemination of current best evidence
  • Professional functioning in complex organizations, especially RQs and Hs related to professional autonomy of professional nurses
Joyce Griffin-Sobel, PhD, RN

Joyce Griffin-Sobel, PhD, RN
griffinj@upstate.edu
Dean, College of Nursing
Press Release

The faculty at the College of Nursing will prepare you for a fulfilling career in practice, education and research. We are at the forefront of new ventures in nursing education.