Induction Ceremony Update

Induction for the Omicron Alpha Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing was held Friday, November 4, 2011 at the Weiskotten Hall Auditorium. Dr. Elvira Szigeti, Dean, College of Nursing, opened the program and Dr. David Smith, University President, offered congratulatory and supportive words to those in attendance.

The featured keynote speaker was Dr. Carol Gavan, Associate Dean and Director of Graduate Nursing Studies at Upstate Medical University’s College of Nursing. Dr. Gavan spoke about nurses and "The Courage of Our Convictions."

Roberta Rolland, President of the chapter, installed the inductees. Donna Parks, President Elect and Colleen Bud , Secretary of the Student Association for the College of Nursing introduced the inductees as they received their membership.  

The sixty-five inductees for the year 2011 were:

Pramilia Adhikari, Tara Atwater Jo-Anne Furcinito, Carolyn Gaulke, Jennifer George, Lori Granger, Nicole Harf, Jyoti Patil, Teri Strine, Elizabeth Urban, Cheryl Youker, Theresa Baxter,  Zoryana Bosak, Carolyn Burton , Michelle Camarda, Melissa Clemons, Elaine Cretaro, Rita Curran, Michelle Depalmo, Olga Dolly, Rebecca Dottolo, Marion Gnadt, Kristen Heaphy, Chelsea Ingrassia, Lorrie Langdon, Karen Law, Bonnie Lefkowitz-White, Nicole Levy, Jennifer Mahnken,, Sheila Mcauliffe, Alicia Mcinerney, Sara Mckercher, Julie Middleton, Franklyn Miller, Kiersten Miller, Patricia Miller, Asma Mohammad, Alexander Nicholson, Joseph O’Donnell, Laura Ogundiran, Jeff Perrine, Shirley Pierre, Sandra Prevost, Gracia Roulan,Yvonne Rutagarama, , Melissa Saxton, Catherine Shea, Daronda Shepard, Crystal Simmons, Tara Smith, Tracy Stevens, Katherine Weinheimer, Carrie Williams, Julie Yankowsky, Mary Agnew, Ruth Hudson, Florence Mandbvu, Nanette Martell, and Cheryl Tibbits,

Seven joined the local chapter as either transfer or dual membership members:

Megan Atkinson, Vivian Burdick, Debra Cardarelli, Ann Hendrickson, Ruth Powell, Sue Ryan, and Ann Sweet.

Carol Gavan, Ed.D, RN received the Community Mentor Award for her contributions to community health and nursing education. The Excellence in Research Award went to Michael Allain, MS, RN, CNS, CCRN, for his work to help decrease infection in the clinical setting. Dr. Virginia Byers presented the Virginia B. Byers Professional Organization Commitment Award to Bridget McCarthy, MS, RN,FNP for her work with the Syracuse Area Black Nurses Association.

Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society of Nursing was founded in 1922. The organization expanded internationally with nearly 500 chapters across the globe and more than 400,000 inducted members who are active in more than 90 countries and territories.

Omicron Alpha embraces the global mission of Sigma Theta Tau International with growth, development, and sharing of nursing knowledge. The Chapter is dedicated to the improvement of health in Central New York and beyond. Omicron Alpha is committed to the advancement of nursing leadership, scholarship, and research.

Joyce Griffin-Sobel, PhD, RN

Joyce Griffin-Sobel, PhD, RN
Dean, College of Nursing
Press Release

The faculty at the College of Nursing will prepare you for a fulfilling career in practice, education and research. We are at the forefront of new ventures in nursing education.