Honorary Degree Committee (2007-2008)

Membership is appointed by the President's Office. If you wish to serve on this committee please contact the President's Office or a Faculty Governance Officer.


Paul L. Grover, PhD,
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Maxwell Mozell, PhD,
Dean Emeritus, College of Graduate Studies


Paul L. Grover, PhD: 464-4520
1157 Weiskotten Hall


  • Dale Avers, PT, DPT, PhD
    Associate Professor, Department of Physical Therapy Education
  • Richard Cross, PhD
    Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Jenna Gaesser
    USG President
  • Melanie Kalman, PhD
    Associate Professor, College of Nursing
  • Sam Mackenzie
    College Council Rep
  • Patricia Numann, MD
    SUNY Distinguished Teaching & Service Professor
  • Nancy Nussmeier, MD
    Professor & Chair, Department of Anesthesiology
  • Joseph Sanger, MD
    Professor & Chair, Department of Cell & Developmental Biology
  • Wanda Thompson, PhD
    Associate Senior Vice President for Operations
  • Peter Uva
    Retired Librarian


The Honorary Degree Committee consists of members representing the University's faculty, students, administration and the College Council. The Committee seeks nominations from the University for SUNY honorary degree(s) conferred during Commencement exercises. The Committee reviews recommendations, verifies eligibility according to SUNY guidelines, and submits nominations to the President for approval and his submission to the State University of New York.

Related Standing Committees/Subcommittees/Ad hoc Committees/Task Forces: