About Upstate Medical University

Part of the State University of New York, the largest comprehensive university system in the United States,  Upstate Medical University in Syracuse is among the nation’s 140 academic medical centers, which are built around medical schools and teaching hospitals, and are leaders in education, advanced patient care and research.

The campus includes four colleges – Health Professions and Nursing (both undergraduate and graduate degree programs), and Medicine and Graduate Studies (graduate degree programs only). We have an enrollment of approximately 1,600 students, with an estimated 90 percent coming from New York State.

Upstate traces its origins to 1834; the year Geneva Medical College was founded. The college disbanded in 1871 and its assets became part of Syracuse University, which sold the medical school to the State University of New York in 1950.  The College of Graduate Studies opened in 1957, followed by the College of Nursing in 1959 and the College of Health Professions in 1971.

Today, in addition to its four colleges and two teaching hospitals, SUNY Upstate also boasts a growing biomedical research enterprise, and the region’s only Level-1 trauma center, children’s hospital and cancer center.