Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Graduate Students & PostDocs

Graduate Students

Dimitra Aggeli - Amberg Lab - aggelid@upstate.edu
Subhrajit Banerjee - Kane Lab - banerjes@upstate.edu
Adam Blanden - Loh Lab - blandena@upstate.edu
Maria Camargo - Middleton Lab - camargom@upstate.edu
Sergio Couoh-Cardel - Wilkens Lab - couohcas@upstate.edu
Matthew Craft - Loh Lab - craftm@upstate.edu
Darin Dolezal - Pignoni Lab - dolesald@upstate.edu
Cherry Mae Ignacio - Middleton Lab - ignacioc@upstate.edu
Joshua Karchin - Loh Lab - karchinj@upstate.edu
Thuy La - Chen Lab - lat@upstate.edu
Yaxin Liu - Chen Lab - liuya@upstate.edu
Zahra Motahari - Zuber Lab - motaharz@upstate.edu
Zachary Oaks - Perl Lab - oaksz@upstate.edu
Jie Peng - Feng Lab - pengj@upstate.edu
MD Shafiuddin - Schmitt Lab - shafiudm@upstate.edu
Naman Shah - Duncan Lab - shahn@upstate.edu
Stuti Sharma - Wilkens Lab - sharmast@upstate.edu
Stephen Shinsky - Cosgrove Lab - shinskys@upstate.edu
Nicholas Stam - Wilkens Lab - stamn@upstate.edu
Swetha Devi Velivela - Kane Lab - velivels@upstate.edu
Lala Zafreen - Berry Lab - zafreenl@upstate.edu
Huimei (Janet) Zheng - Loh Lab - zhengh@upstate.edu

Post Docs

Nilda Alicea-Velazquez - Cosgrove Lab - aliceavn@upstate.edu
Remigiusz Arnak - Feng Lab - arnakr@upstate.edu
Mehdi Najafi - Calvert Lab - najafim@upstate.edu
Rebecca Oot - Wilkens Lab - ootr@upstate.edu


students

Heba Diab and Sheena Claire Li, PhD students in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, use the yeast model system to study basic cell functions. Yeast enzymes are similar to human enzymes, which makes yeast a popular tool among researchers.

SUNY Upstate's Biochemistry and Molecular Biology students have a time-consuming advantage—the Virtek pinning robot that transfers individual yeast mutants from one plate to another to test their responses. "It's a nice way to get a lot of data quickly, so you can spend time addressing the major question behind the experiment," said Deb, who studies oxidative stress in cells.

Biochemistry students are at the front end of translational research, conducting the basic science that can lead to treatments for diseases such as osteoporosis and cancer.